American Safety Council launches
Florida Online Safe Boating Course
Orlando, FL, May 23, 2005: The American Safety Council announces its new online safe boating education course specifically designed for Florida boaters. The course is being launched to coincide with the start of Florida’s busy summer boating season as well as National Safe Boating Week (May 21-27, 2005).
“It’s important to realize that most boating accidents involve individuals with no formal boating safety education,” says Bob Proechel, president of the American Safety Council. “Many boating accidents can be prevented if new boaters make safety a priority, which includes taking a boating safety education course prior to venturing out on Florida’s waterways. The American Safety Council is pleased to make the Florida boating course available online for residents and visitors,” says Proechel.
Selected boating statistics from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission for 2003 (the most recent year for which statistics were available):
- Total number of registered vessels in Florida is at an all-time high with 978,225 registered in 2003.
- The most likely time to be involved in a boating accident (as determined by accident frequency statistics) is during the months of March, April, May, June, or July between noon and 6:00 pm while cruising.
- 48% of reported accidents were primarily caused by either carelessness/inattention or violation of a navigation rule.
- Individuals most likely to be operating a vessel involved in an accident are males between the ages of 22 and 50 who have 100 hours or more of boating experience, but no formal boater education (as determined by operator statistics).
- 16% of those involved in a boating accident either died or were injured.
- Most fatal boating accident victims were males (79.7%) who were 22 years of age or older (75%).
- 45.3% of boat operators involved in a fatal boating accident reported having over 100 hours of boating experience, while 90.6% had no formal boater education.
FLORIDA BOATER SAFETY EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
Anyone 21 years of age and under who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass a boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boater safety identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
The American Safety Council’s online basic boating safety course is approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission and the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and is recognized by the United States Coast Guard. The course is fully accredited and meets the State of Florida’s requirements for basic boater safety education.
The course is available online at the following website: http://www.floridaboatingcourse.com. Students who successfully complete the course and exam receive a full size completion certificate, wallet certificate and are automatically reported to the State of Florida for issuance of their state boater education identification card. For more information, contact the American Safety Council at 1-800-393-1063.
Students who successfully complete the course and exam receive a full size completion certificate, wallet certificate and are automatically reported to the State of Florida for issuance of their state boater education identification card.